NOFX Announce New Album First Ditch Effort, Share “Six Years On Dope”

California Punks NOFX have recently announced the release of a new album, titled First Ditch Effort, on October 7th. Additionally, the band has shared the first single off the album, the short-but-sweet lead-off track “Six Years On Dope.” According to the album’s press release, the new album will be a more personal affair than past NOFX releases, with song subjects dealing with Fat Mike’s relationship with his wife and his involvement in the world of BDSM (topics that are none too surprising if you’ve checked out this year’s NOFX autobiography The Hepatitis Bathtub and Other Stories). Fat Mike credits the tell-all honesty of the autobiography to this upcoming album’s writing process, saying

“I used to live so much of my life in private but I’ve slowly started going to parties and out in public without being embarrassed of my true identity and that confidence just transferred over to my entire life… When you’re dressed in rubber and heels and corset and you’re waiting in line for an Omelette in Jamaica, well, after that there’s nowhere else to go.”

Check out First Ditch Effort‘s cover art, tracklist, and the video for “Six Years On Dope” below. “Six Years on Dope” can be purchased via Fat Wreck’s website.

NOFX was last seen at The Paradise in April for the Boston stop of their Hepatitis Bathtub tour. First Ditch Effort will be the band’s first album since 2012’s Self Entitled.

nofx first ditch effort

First Ditch Effort:

  1. Six Years on Dope
  2. Happy Father’s Day
  3. Sid and Nancy
  4. California Drought
  5. Oxy Moronic
  6. I Don’t Like Me Anymore
  7. I’m a Transvest-lite
  8. Ditch Effort
  9. Dead Beat Mom
  10. Bye Bye Biopsy Girl
  11. It Ain’t Lonely At The Bottom
  12. I’m So Sorry Tony
  13. Generation Z